myfreeforum.org Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  Who is OnlineWho is Online   Join! (free) Join! (free)  
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
For an excellent guide to using your myfreeforum forum, you can visit
howtodoit
The howtodoit "readonly" forum provides answers and walkthroughs for all common questions.
  • Welcome
  • Country: US
    US
    Address: 38.107.191.109
  • Server Appeal

iromrepo.myfreeforums.org, a scam.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    myfreeforum.org Forum Index -> Terms and Conditions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Please Register and Login to this forum to stop seeing this advertsing.






Add Karma

rated by members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
Posted:     Post subject:


Back to top
Private message
redskull15
Newbie
Newbie


Virtual Cash: 80

Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 4



Add Karma

rated by 0 members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:33 am    Post subject: iromrepo.myfreeforums.org, a scam. Reply with quote

I have been running my site for quite a while (http://forums.iromrepo.com) and it has recently come to the attention of the iROM staff and members that there is a user running a forum on this site that is explicitly breaking our copyright, and quite possibly scamming its users. He is not only using our site name (iRomrepo), but the content he is providing nearly copies our site's info, but there isn't any files on his site. All the FTP links for the files there are empty or non-existant. Upon further research, I have discovered that this is the same person who used to be a co-admin on our site a while back, but he scammed our staff and stole all the donation money before disappearing. It seems that he's trying to do the same thing once more, since his site has various donation requests on it, and in exchange for something that isn't actually there. His username is Dravion, which is the username he used on our site as well. I and another admin on my site are both witnesses to this scam, and are very offended by this explicit copyright violation.

Furthermore, any attempt we've made to contact this user personally have failed, and he has banned our accounts from his forum throughout trying to solve this dispute in a civilized manner. I am disappointed that it has come to this level of dispute.

Thank you for taking the time to read this thread. Please respond, as it would make the staff and members of iROM very pleased to have some sort of resolve.

signed, The iROM staff
http://forums.iromrepo.com

Back to top
View user's profile Private message
admin (no pm's please)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Virtual Cash: 24210

Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 25515



Add Karma

rated by 214 members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't seem to have mentioned the actual forum that is allegedly breaking copyright, or what exactly they are breaking.
_________________

Family Friendly Shareware | | Web Design/Services | Free Forums

Back to top
View user's profile Private message Visit poster's website
redskull15
Newbie
Newbie


Virtual Cash: 80

Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 4



Add Karma

rated by 0 members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

His site is iromrepo.myfreeforums.org

Many people on my site have already told me about him because they were scammed. This is really outrageous.

Isn't against your rules to try and advertise illegal content?

Back to top
View user's profile Private message
admin (no pm's please)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Virtual Cash: 24210

Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 25515



Add Karma

rated by 214 members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now we have a link (wrong link actually) correcting it and I see a forum with no obvious violations.

Please don't make this like extracting teeth! We will act if given information we can act on.

This is now the 3rd communication from you with nothing really specific.
_________________

Family Friendly Shareware | | Web Design/Services | Free Forums

Back to top
View user's profile Private message Visit poster's website
redskull15
Newbie
Newbie


Virtual Cash: 80

Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 4



Add Karma

rated by 0 members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The user is requesting payments for something he's not giving them. Also, he is distributing links to copyrighted content (a.k.a. GBA roms, which are illegal if you don't pay for it). I know for a fact that you can't distribute that content on this forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Private message
Nick(NR)
Moderator
Moderator


Virtual Cash: 15760

Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 4743


Location: Medway, Kent
Add Karma

rated by 37 members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

assuming this: http://iromrepo.myfreeforum.org/ is the forum in question, everything on there relating to roms are not guest readable if you are able to read them, please provide us with screenshots(in fullsize and not reduced).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ROM_image#Legal_status
_________________
CALM TIME: When calm time is called, all posters in a topic must take time out to calm down.


I'm better than Jose!
Back to top
View user's profile Private message Visit poster's website
redskull15
Newbie
Newbie


Virtual Cash: 80

Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 4



Add Karma

rated by 0 members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its perfectly obvious that his site was for downloading roms to your ipod/iphone. The reason there are no roms visible is because its a scam. He requires users to pay a small fee to get access to his repo, but many of my users said that it was empty, so they were scammed. The point is that his site is trying to run a repo that distributes roms. If you look at the posts carefully, you can see that for yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Private message
admin (no pm's please)
Site Admin
Site Admin


Virtual Cash: 24210

Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 25515



Add Karma

rated by 214 members
Add Comment
Show Comments

online/offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This really is pretty thin, your complaint seems to be based not on the potential illegality of the roms, but on the alleged lack of them. That is hardly the moral high ground to throw rocks from.
Playing about with emulators is not that big a deal, if the companies are fussed about it, then they can take action.



_________________

Family Friendly Shareware | | Web Design/Services | Free Forums

Back to top
View user's profile Private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    myfreeforum.org Forum Index -> Terms and Conditions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
 
 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Card File  Gallery  Forum Archive
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group