redskull15 Newbie


Virtual Cash: 80
Joined: 12 Mar 2009 Posts: 4
Add Karma
 rated by 0 members
Add Comment
Show Comments
 |
Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:33 am Post subject: iromrepo.myfreeforums.org, a scam. |
|
|
I have been running my site for quite a while (http://forums.iromrepo.com) and it has recently come to the attention of the iROM staff and members that there is a user running a forum on this site that is explicitly breaking our copyright, and quite possibly scamming its users. He is not only using our site name (iRomrepo), but the content he is providing nearly copies our site's info, but there isn't any files on his site. All the FTP links for the files there are empty or non-existant. Upon further research, I have discovered that this is the same person who used to be a co-admin on our site a while back, but he scammed our staff and stole all the donation money before disappearing. It seems that he's trying to do the same thing once more, since his site has various donation requests on it, and in exchange for something that isn't actually there. His username is Dravion, which is the username he used on our site as well. I and another admin on my site are both witnesses to this scam, and are very offended by this explicit copyright violation.
Furthermore, any attempt we've made to contact this user personally have failed, and he has banned our accounts from his forum throughout trying to solve this dispute in a civilized manner. I am disappointed that it has come to this level of dispute.
Thank you for taking the time to read this thread. Please respond, as it would make the staff and members of iROM very pleased to have some sort of resolve.
signed, The iROM staff
http://forums.iromrepo.com
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
admin (no pm's please) Site Admin


 Virtual Cash: 24210
Joined: 22 May 2005 Posts: 25515
Add Karma
 rated by 214 members
Add Comment
Show Comments
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
redskull15 Newbie


Virtual Cash: 80
Joined: 12 Mar 2009 Posts: 4
Add Karma
 rated by 0 members
Add Comment
Show Comments
 |
Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
His site is iromrepo.myfreeforums.org
Many people on my site have already told me about him because they were scammed. This is really outrageous.
Isn't against your rules to try and advertise illegal content?
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
admin (no pm's please) Site Admin


 Virtual Cash: 24210
Joined: 22 May 2005 Posts: 25515
Add Karma
 rated by 214 members
Add Comment
Show Comments
 |
Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Now we have a link (wrong link actually) correcting it and I see a forum with no obvious violations.
Please don't make this like extracting teeth! We will act if given information we can act on.
This is now the 3rd communication from you with nothing really specific. _________________
Family Friendly Shareware | | Web Design/Services | Free Forums
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
redskull15 Newbie


Virtual Cash: 80
Joined: 12 Mar 2009 Posts: 4
Add Karma
 rated by 0 members
Add Comment
Show Comments
 |
Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 4:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The user is requesting payments for something he's not giving them. Also, he is distributing links to copyrighted content (a.k.a. GBA roms, which are illegal if you don't pay for it). I know for a fact that you can't distribute that content on this forum.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Nick(NR) Moderator


 Virtual Cash: 15760
Joined: 06 May 2006 Posts: 4743
Location: Medway, Kent Add Karma
 rated by 37 members
Add Comment
Show Comments
 |
Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
assuming this: http://iromrepo.myfreeforum.org/ is the forum in question, everything on there relating to roms are not guest readable if you are able to read them, please provide us with screenshots(in fullsize and not reduced).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ROM_image#Legal_status _________________ CALM TIME: When calm time is called, all posters in a topic must take time out to calm down.
I'm better than Jose! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
redskull15 Newbie


Virtual Cash: 80
Joined: 12 Mar 2009 Posts: 4
Add Karma
 rated by 0 members
Add Comment
Show Comments
 |
Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Its perfectly obvious that his site was for downloading roms to your ipod/iphone. The reason there are no roms visible is because its a scam. He requires users to pay a small fee to get access to his repo, but many of my users said that it was empty, so they were scammed. The point is that his site is trying to run a repo that distributes roms. If you look at the posts carefully, you can see that for yourself.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
admin (no pm's please) Site Admin


 Virtual Cash: 24210
Joined: 22 May 2005 Posts: 25515
Add Karma
 rated by 214 members
Add Comment
Show Comments
 |
Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This really is pretty thin, your complaint seems to be based not on the potential illegality of the roms, but on the alleged lack of them. That is hardly the moral high ground to throw rocks from.
Playing about with emulators is not that big a deal, if the companies are fussed about it, then they can take action.
_________________
Family Friendly Shareware | | Web Design/Services | Free Forums
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |