Archive for myfreeforum.org Before posting please check the "stickies" in the support forums.
Please ask questions in real English and not "txt". You will get a better response.
Please do not ask support questions via PMs.

myfreeforum.org Forum Index -> Running your community
Sapp

My Own Personal Advice On How To Keep a Successful Forum

Well, I have nearly 2 years experience with being an MFF admin and I have learned some valuable lessons from it. I tried to mirror myself after other bigwig admins on huge message boards, who were strict and banned people just because they posted funny. I thought by being strict I'd be a successful admin with alot of behaved members. Well, I was very wrong. I have a couple of my own old forums, plus a forum I was a co-admin on die because of my dictatorship.
My old forums couldn't even get past 5,000 posts with barely any active members because of my leadership ways.
    When I finally started to create forums again and get back into the picture, I've decided to be a very easy going admin. I now have a site with 40 members and over 17K posts in 2 and a half months. That's 4 times as big as a forum of mine ever got, and I'm pretty darn proud of myself for reaching that success(along w/ my members lol). I continue to grow everyday because I am a nice admin, funny, easy going, somewhat strict to an extent(but not to where members hate me), etc. I just have this advice to all new admins out there who might model their rule enforcement off of dictators; turn your forum into a democracy, where people feel free to relax on your forum and get away from their problems in the real world. I like to make my forum somewhat of a getaway "Resort" to go to when they're feeling down.
myff admin