Archive for myfreeforum.org Before posting please check the "stickies" in the support forums.
Please ask questions in real English and not "txt". You will get a better response.
Please do not ask support questions via PMs.

The free forums are now under new ownership, a full announcement will be made shortly

myfreeforum.org Forum Index -> My Fried Forum
wraeth

Lost over 75,000 articles

Good morning

The thread title's self-explanatory. We had somewhere in the region of 122,000 articles and suddenly we now have less than 50,000. This must have happened last night or the early hours of this morning. The board owner noticed it but is based abroad so on a different time-frame and not available at the moment.

I'm an admin on the board. To the best of my knowledge, we haven't been doing any work to the board structure e.g. templates.

There seems to be no clear pattern to what we've lost e.g. it doesn't seem to be everything before a certain date or the loss of a particular forum/s.

Has something happened at myfreeforums end?

Can anyone help with suggestions about what to do next?

Thank you in advance.

Bravo

In your admin panel>General Configuration>Enable Forum Pruning...

Is that set to yes, or no?
wraeth

Bravo wrote:
In your admin panel>General Configuration>Enable Forum Pruning...

Is that set to yes, or no?

It's set to 'yes'.
Bravo

Then it looks like your forum has been pruned.

If you don't want old posts removing, you should set that to a no.
wraeth

Bravo wrote:
Then it looks like your forum has been pruned.

If you don't want old posts removing, you should set that to a no.

Thanks for your reply Bravo. I'll set it to 'no' now.

The thing is, there are only 5 people with admin rights and we know each other personally. I can't see why any of us would prune the forum, we've put too much time and effort into what's on there - radio shows and the like.