Archive for myfreeforum.org Before posting please check the "stickies" in the support forums.
Please ask questions in real English and not "txt". You will get a better response.
Please do not ask support questions via PMs.
 



       myfreeforum.org Forum Index -> Terms and Conditions
redskull15

iromrepo.myfreeforums.org, a scam.

I have been running my site for quite a while (http://forums.iromrepo.com) and it has recently come to the attention of the iROM staff and members that there is a user running a forum on this site that is explicitly breaking our copyright, and quite possibly scamming its users. He is not only using our site name (iRomrepo), but the content he is providing nearly copies our site's info, but there isn't any files on his site. All the FTP links for the files there are empty or non-existant. Upon further research, I have discovered that this is the same person who used to be a co-admin on our site a while back, but he scammed our staff and stole all the donation money before disappearing. It seems that he's trying to do the same thing once more, since his site has various donation requests on it, and in exchange for something that isn't actually there. His username is Dravion, which is the username he used on our site as well. I and another admin on my site are both witnesses to this scam, and are very offended by this explicit copyright violation.

Furthermore, any attempt we've made to contact this user personally have failed, and he has banned our accounts from his forum throughout trying to solve this dispute in a civilized manner. I am disappointed that it has come to this level of dispute.

Thank you for taking the time to read this thread. Please respond, as it would make the staff and members of iROM very pleased to have some sort of resolve.

signed, The iROM staff
http://forums.iromrepo.com
admin (no pm's please)

You don't seem to have mentioned the actual forum that is allegedly breaking copyright, or what exactly they are breaking.
redskull15

His site is iromrepo.myfreeforums.org

Many people on my site have already told me about him because they were scammed. This is really outrageous.

Isn't against your rules to try and advertise illegal content?
admin (no pm's please)

Now we have a link (wrong link actually) correcting it and I see a forum with no obvious violations.

Please don't make this like extracting teeth! We will act if given information we can act on.

This is now the 3rd communication from you with nothing really specific.
redskull15

The user is requesting payments for something he's not giving them. Also, he is distributing links to copyrighted content (a.k.a. GBA roms, which are illegal if you don't pay for it). I know for a fact that you can't distribute that content on this forum.
Nick(NR)

assuming this: http://iromrepo.myfreeforum.org/ is the forum in question, everything on there relating to roms are not guest readable if you are able to read them, please provide us with screenshots(in fullsize and not reduced).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ROM_image#Legal_status
redskull15

Its perfectly obvious that his site was for downloading roms to your ipod/iphone. The reason there are no roms visible is because its a scam. He requires users to pay a small fee to get access to his repo, but many of my users said that it was empty, so they were scammed. The point is that his site is trying to run a repo that distributes roms. If you look at the posts carefully, you can see that for yourself.
admin (no pm's please)

This really is pretty thin, your complaint seems to be based not on the potential illegality of the roms, but on the alleged lack of them. That is hardly the moral high ground to throw rocks from.
Playing about with emulators is not that big a deal, if the companies are fussed about it, then they can take action.

       myfreeforum.org Forum Index -> Terms and Conditions
Page 1 of 1
Create your own free forum | Buy a domain to use with your forum