Chloe1617
|
hijacked I thinkPlease can you investigate the possibility that afairercsaforall has been hijacked or has an embedded virus on it.
We have been informed that the following search is coming up on google -
Zetz: Lizzie post. Post subject: "remember me" video by lizzie ...
Lizzie: fun and games post your jokes and funny stories here give us something to smile about: ) moderators chall1964, lizzie, kazianco, wifey: fri aug am. ...
8n-zetz-h9.blogspot.com/2008/08/lizzie-post-post-subject-me-video-by.html - 24k -
This search takes you to a blog created on the 21/9/08 which then takes you to privatetube.com (porn site)
We have searched our site manually and can find no reference that would link this video to us or vice versa.
This blog/video then tries to download Windows antivirus 2009 onto the recipients computer.
Please can you investigate this matter and advise me of what action I can take.
_________________
|
admin (no pm's please)
|
You cannot put a virus on a forum.
and you have given no links to where this virus supposedly is.
|
Chloe1617
|
8n-zetz-h9.blogspot.com/2008/08/lizzie-post-post-subject-me-video-by.html - 24k -
Hi admin sorry bout the lack of info.
One of our valid links has been hijacked and takes you to the above website, which directs you to the video. It is using our moderator names as the link. When users try to open it, it attempts to download the virus.
Any advice (please dont open the link, the virus is downloaded more or less straight away)
Thanx in advance
|
admin (no pm's please)
|
You still need to tell me where the bad link on your forum actually is.
|
Chloe1617
|
The offending blog was found by chance under a google search. We have no idea whether there are any links on the forum itself, and are asking for help over how we could find out.
With regard to the blog there is a great deal of content from our site in the "view source" option. Without opening the blog, could you kindly look at the information contained and possibly explain what the purposes seem to be.
We have no connection with the blog and can not understand why they would hold our info.
Sorry i'm not very savvy in IT, so I might seem a little puter phobic
|
admin (no pm's please)
|
So all you are saying it would seem it that someone has copied content from your forum onto a dodgy blog?
|
Chloe1617
|
Possibly, but why would someone do that, is it to discredit our forum?
Is there anything we can do to stop it, we dont know which blog is hosting as it doesnt give enough time to find out?
thanks for your help
|
Chloe1617
|
Also worried about the impact it could have on peoples computers etc.
|
admin (no pm's please)
|
| Chloe1617 wrote: | Possibly, but why would someone do that, is it to discredit our forum?
Is there anything we can do to stop it, we dont know which blog is hosting as it doesnt give enough time to find out?
thanks for your help |
If you disable javascript you may be able to get a better look at it.
|
Chloe1617
|
Thank you will try that.
Cheers for your time x
|
NickXmL
|
true, javascript can help you see it better, and i see what youre looking for, however, was the google search on the site looking through the net, or just your site? if its your site this is a bit easy to fix
|
Nick(NR)
|
I love my firefox addon, tis blogger that hosts that blog.
|
Chloe1617
|
Hi both Nicks and thanks for your help Admin that goes without saying.
As we are not computer savvy, we are total novices honestly, what would be our best course of action........ Do we report this to blogger and/or google, we dont want to cause trouble or upset anyone. Damage to the forum worries us as it is a hub for people needing advice, theres a few rely upon it. Is there anything we can do without upsetting/reporting it//
|
admin (no pm's please)
|
Complaining to the blogger site is the best course of action.
|
NickXmL
|
I would say the same thing had i posted earlier
|
Chloe1617
|
Hi guys, its all sorted thank you. there is some nasty people about.
No harm done this time, but we need to keep an eye on things.
Thanks for your input x
|
|
|