Archive for myfreeforum.org Before posting please check the "stickies" in the support forums.
Please ask questions in real English and not "txt". You will get a better response.
Please do not ask support questions via PMs.

myfreeforum.org Forum Index -> Web page/template Editing
Hashim

Help With Advanced Template Editing

Hi there, I'm fairly new to the MFF forum, and I'm looking for a bit of advanced help with template editing. I already know how to edit my own template, which I've done quite a bit of. What I'm looking to find out, however, is how, if it's even possible, to edit the variables that are in templates.

For a better understanding of what I mean by "variables" please see here:

Click to see full size image

As you can see there are parts which i've highlighted, parts in the code which aren't really HTML (as far as I can tell, anyway) - they're just keywords which hold certain values. For example, using the overallfooter.tpl file as an example file, the {SITENAME} keyword/variable (not sure the exact name for these, can anyone enlighten me? ) holds the name of my site as set in the Admin Panel under General Configuration. This is one keyword that CAN be edited, but as you can see, there are plenty more keywords in that file alone, and there is no visible way to edit any of these.

I AM aware that you can remove the keyword completely, replacing it with what you want there. So I COULD just replace {SITENAME}, which currently holds the value of The Coder Hub, with My Coder Hub, and my sitename would change. But there MUST be a way to edit the actual variables and what is stored in them. I've seen these variables all across my forum code and there is so much scope as to what can be done with them, in terms of customizing a forum and giving it your own personal touch. Instead of simply editing where a variable is mentioned, you could edit the variable itself and every part of your code which mentions that variable would change to how you want it.